Microgaming

★ 8.6 0 games in catalog
Founded
1994
Headquarters
Douglas, Isle of Man — historical base
Licenses
UKGC 39073; MGA/B2B/139/2007 — Apricot

Microgaming is familiar from Mega Moolah, Thunderstruck II, Immortal Romance and Break Away. Its present offering goes much further. New releases use cash collection, merging symbols, several bonus choices and paid feature entry. The brand also has Playboy live tables, regional card games, fishing and crash formats.

The full game name matters. Cash Blitz is different from Gold Blitz. Moonlight Romance is different from Immortal Romance. Lucky Twins Wilds Link&Merge has a different engine from the older Lucky Twins. A familiar character or theme does not establish the same return, bonus price or rules.

Three names: Microgaming, Games Global and Apricot

Microgaming’s history began on the Isle of Man in 1994. The brand is associated with Martin Moshal and some of the earliest online casino software, with Douglas as its historical base. Mobile casino software followed in 2004. The business later expanded into slots, a poker network and software services for operators.

On 3 May 2022, Games Global announced that it had completed the acquisition of Microgaming’s distribution business, game intellectual property, progressive jackpot network and interests in studios. Its launch portfolio contained more than 3,000 games and jackpot titles. That figure describes the portfolio at that transaction, rather than the current collection carrying the Microgaming name.

The platform business continues as Apricot. Today’s Microgaming, presented at microgaming.io, offers a modern collection of its own and partner content. It would therefore be misleading to say that no new games appear under the Microgaming brand. Equally, the new catalogue does not establish that rights previously sold to Games Global have returned.

Name Relevant business How to identify a game
Games Global Acquired game rights, jackpot network and its studio releases Use the exact release and studio, rather than an old lobby label alone
Apricot Platform technology and software services A platform supplier is not necessarily the developer of every connected game
Present-day Microgaming Modern slots, live tables and specialised RNG formats Match the full title, release date and individual mechanics

Supplier permissions belong to named companies

The British register lists Apricot Investments Limited under account 39073. Its Casino and Gambling Software activities have active status, under permission 039073-R-319434-031. Apricot Investments Europe Limited holds the Maltese B2B critical supply permission MGA/B2B/139/2007.

These are named entities and distinct permissions. The terms of the present microgaming.io website name Blue Sakura or its licensors as owners of the materials. An Apricot number cannot automatically certify every new release in that catalogue or allow every connected casino to accept players from every country.

The supplier and the operator holding a player’s account have separate roles. Residence, account currency, product access and promotion rules depend on the casino. Interface language is a separate setting. Several current game cards list Russian, but a Russian interface does not specify where someone lives.

Six current games with different bonus structures

Cash Blitz and Kong’s Jungle Tower focus on collecting money symbols. Sugar Mania develops chains of cascades and position multipliers. Moonlight Romance offers combinations of three free-spin modes. Money on Reels has a medium volatility label, while Lucky Twins Wilds Link&Merge is labelled very high.

Game Card RTP Main distinction
Cash Blitz 96.00% Choice of free spins or a separate cash-collection bonus
Sugar Mania 8000 96.14% Position multipliers double through further cascades
Moonlight Romance – The Awakening 96.24% Three coloured bonus modes and combinations
Lucky Twins Wilds Link&Merge 96.16% Merged symbols and enhanced wilds
Kong’s Jungle Tower 96.30% Tower values, multipliers and coin collection
Money on Reels 96.21% A 5×3 board, connected coins and diamond-triggered features

These are public card figures, rather than one return for all Microgaming games. Kong explicitly lists alternative settings. The Lucky Twins description also gives a variable range. A headline number does not prove which configuration a casino has installed.

Cash Blitz: two magnets and a bonus choice

Cash Blitz was released on 27 November 2024. Six reels with four rows provide 4,096 ways, with combinations evaluated from left to right. Money values and jackpot symbols appear on the middle reels. Magnets on reel one and reel six collect them. Two magnets collect the available amounts twice.

Mini, Minor and Major are fixed at 25x, 250x and 2,500x the stake. They are not a shared pool that keeps growing between players. A separate Mega symbol appears only during Cash Blitz Spins. The stated game limit is 5,000x the stake; a jackpot label does not remove that overall limit.

Three or more scatters open a choice. Regular free spins feature wild multipliers of 2x, 3x and 4x and allow additional spins. Cash Blitz Spins instead uses a restricted set of collect, cash and jackpot symbols. At least one collect is guaranteed on each spin of that mode, but the bonus cannot retrigger.

Paid entry costs 75x, 120x or 150x the stake and produces four, five or six scatters respectively. At a 0.20 stake, those prices become 15, 24 or 30 in the balance currency. This is an immediate entry cost. It does not promise a payout of the same amount and is not a contribution to a progressive pool.

Sugar Mania 8000: a position multiplier is not the payout cap

Sugar Mania 8000 uses Pay Anywhere wins. Winning symbols leave the board and new symbols fall into the spaces. After the first cascade, involved positions receive a 2x multiplier. Further use of a position doubles its value. If several multiplier positions contribute to a win, their values are added before the payout is calculated.

For example, contributing values of 2x and 4x give a combined 6x, rather than 8x. One position can reach 8,192x. The stated overall win limit is 12,000x the stake. The 8000 in the title should therefore not be read as the exact maximum payout for a complete round.

Position values reset between paid base spins. They remain in place during free spins. Three or more lollipop scatters trigger the feature, while a +1 symbol adds a spin. Before the round, a wheel can improve up to three symbol types: mystery becomes Super Mystery, bombs affect a 5×5 area, and +1 becomes +2.

Top 3 Wins is another paid option. It presents the three best results from a package of 100, 300 or 500 spins. It is not a promise of three profitable bonus rounds. The total package charge and its displayed conditions matter before purchase. The top card gives 30 July 2025 as the release date, while the detailed table says 5 August. These dates conflict, despite matching title and 96.14% RTP.

Moonlight Romance: random entry or all three modifiers

Moonlight Romance – The Awakening was released on 30 July 2025. It is a vampire-themed 5×3 game with 243 ways. It is not an alternative name for the original Immortal Romance. Coloured lion statues feed matching chests and can activate a feature. Visible collection does not guarantee that the next statue will trigger it.

Green Wild Spread starts with 15 free spins and spreading wilds from reel three. Blue Wild Multiply also begins with 15 spins and brings multiplier enhancements. These two modes can operate together. Red Wild Bloom provides five spins with possible full wild reels.

The 50x purchase offers a random combination of one to three modes. The 140x purchase offers all three. At a 0.30 stake, that is 15 versus 42 in the account currency. The price difference buys a different starting condition, rather than a guaranteed result. The stated overall cap is 10,000x the stake.

Lucky Twins Wilds Link&Merge changes the old format

The modern title keeps the fortune cats but uses adjacent matching symbols, merging and cascades. Wilds can occupy several positions. Its bonus adds enhancements and extra spins. That engine differs from the old line-based game. Recognising the characters is not enough to transfer the old paytable to this release.

The top card states 29 April 2026, 96.16% RTP, very high volatility and a $0.10–20 range. Its detailed table instead gives a 93–97% RTP range and a maximum stake of 50 without a currency label. Those two descriptions cannot establish one universal betting range. The installed edition’s settings and rules determine what is available.

The 10,000x limit is expressed as a stake multiplier. Even under the heading Max Exposure (USD), it cannot be read as a fixed $10,000 award. The cash amount changes with the stake. Nor does a large headline multiplier say how often the game reaches its maximum.

Kong’s Jungle Tower: stored values need to be collected

The Red Papaya game has five reels in a 3–4–5–4–3 arrangement and 720 ways evaluated in both directions. Tower amounts on the left can receive multipliers when Kong appears on reel three without a collect symbol. Improving an amount does not immediately credit it to the balance.

A Blue Monkey Coin with Kong collects a random cash value from the tower. A red coin targets a jackpot value. An applicable multiplier increases the amount before it is awarded. A value resets after payment. Uncollected amounts visible in the tower are not already available winnings.

Three bonus symbols on reels one, three and five provide seven free spins and expand the grid to 5×5. Within the bonus, two of those symbols add three spins, while three add eight. The tower and collection features stay active. The stated total win limit is 5,000x the stake.

The public table lists RTP settings of 96.30%, 94.20%, 92.20% and 86.75%. It also gives a maximum stake of 50, whereas the playing instructions say 250. Neither row establishes one shared currency. The latter number should not be advertised as available at every casino.

Reading return and volatility together

RTP describes a theoretical return over a large amount of wagering. At total turnover of 10,000 and a 96% return, the model implies 9,600 in payouts. An individual session can end very differently. Turnover includes every stake, including winnings staked again; it is not simply the first deposit.

Kong’s 96.30% and 86.75% settings differ by 9.55 percentage points. At the same illustrative turnover of 10,000, that is a 955 difference in theoretical payouts. This calculation explains why configuration matters. It does not predict a result after a particular number of spins.

Volatility concerns the distribution of results. Money on Reels being medium and Sugar Mania being very high are meaningful differences even with similar headline returns. Frequent small wins, or a long run of empty spins, do not guarantee the next bonus.

Mega Moolah and the older library

Mega Moolah has five reels and 25 paylines. Its progressive network builds a shared fund, unlike the fixed Cash Blitz prizes. The return model includes a jackpot component. A base figure and a progressive figure cannot be added casually or compared with an ordinary slot without establishing their scope.

A published Betway document lists 88.12% for Mega Moolah with a separate progressive contribution annotation of 8.80. It does not establish the configuration of every present-day edition. Those entries alone also do not justify announcing a combined 96.92% return. That would require knowing which contribution is already included in the stated percentage.

On 6 October 2015, Jon Heywood won £13,209,300 at Betway. Guinness recorded the result as €17,879,645 using the exchange rate on that date. These are two currency descriptions of one payment. The historic record does not establish the current fund size or prove that the award remains the world’s largest.

Thunderstruck II, Immortal Romance and Break Away belong to the familiar classic library. Later releases can change lines, bonus behaviour and limits. The history also includes the VR Roulette prototype demonstrated for Oculus Rift at ICE 2016. That technology exhibit does not imply that today’s catalogue requires a headset or still supports that old prototype.

Playboy slots and live tables use different rules

The Playboy collection includes slots and streamed Baccarat, Roulette and Blackjack. These are distinct products. Speed Baccarat uses a live presenter and short betting windows. Faster presentation allows more decisions per minute but does not improve the underlying terms of a wager.

The published 98.94% return for Speed Baccarat specifically concerns Banker. It does not apply to Tie or the pair side bets. A hand’s score uses the final digit of the total, with tens and picture cards worth zero. Third cards are drawn automatically under baccarat rules. Roadmaps record previous results; they do not provide a reliable prediction.

The card’s 11:1 figure refers to particular side bets, rather than every possible winning outcome. Its 0.10–1,000 amounts do not identify one shared currency either. A table’s own betting limits and payout schedule determine the available wagers. Another Playboy table can have a different range.

Fishing, crash and regional RNG formats

The specialised portfolio covers crash, video poker, arcade, table, fishing and Qi Pai formats. Examples include JetPackX, Dice Pop, Golden Tyrant Fishing and Banker Niu Niu. These are not six versions of a free-spin slot. Each format has its own stake unit and settlement process.

In fishing, the cost of a shot needs to be distinguished from a target’s displayed reward. In crash, the round’s stopping point and multiplier cash-out rules matter. Having controls on screen does not by itself establish that skill guarantees a payout. A neighbouring product’s stake range or maximum is not transferable merely because the supplier name matches.

MG Rewards: tickets, random awards and Shield

Tournament awards points for selected games. Daily Epic Win gives tickets earned through wagering, which are used for draws involving cash, free spins, coins and other rewards. For Free Spins & Cash Drops, the supplier describes random recipients playing participating slots, without a separate opt-in.

Cashback Shield requires a minimum wagering threshold on eligible games. Reaching it makes a player eligible for a randomly issued shield, communicated through an in-game message. Once issued, the shield provides a percentage based on net loss. Reaching the threshold alone does not guarantee receiving the shield. The public description does not state one universal cashback percentage.

Prestige has four levels based on accumulated wagering. Coins & Store lets players redeem coins earned through promotions. These tools need to be connected and have campaign conditions. A Microgaming logo at a casino does not promise every reward, the same qualifying threshold or the same expiry period.

Demo use, mobile display and extra spending

A demo can help explain the controls, symbol collection and feature transitions. Its virtual balance cannot be withdrawn. A successful demonstration run does not predict cash results. A streamed live table also cannot be treated as a slot that starts with practice credits.

Modern HTML5 releases need a supported browser, while live products need a stable stream. Screen rotation and access to the rules are useful to check before a cash round. Language support can differ between tables and features even when a neighbouring slot lists Russian among its options.

With a feature purchase, the expense is the displayed full price. It should not be counted as one ordinary stake in a spending budget. Cash Blitz at 150x and Moonlight’s random entry at 50x provide different conditions and require different amounts. Paying more for entry does not remove the risk of losing the full purchase price.

Pros

  • Classic series and modern game mechanics
  • Bonus choices in individual slots
  • Slots, live tables and regional formats

Cons

  • Some public cards contain conflicting specifications
  • Catalogues and optional features vary by market

Microgaming slots

No games from this studio are in the catalogue yet.

FAQ

Do deposits and withdrawals need a separate Microgaming account?

A cash account is held with the casino operator. The software supplier does not provide a separate player cashier: funding, identity documents and payment requests belong to the casino holding that account.

What details help support investigate an interrupted round?

Keep the exact title, round reference from the history, time, stake, currency and a screenshot of the error. If no reference has appeared yet, the time and balance are useful. These details identify the transaction more effectively than the name of a similar game.